

General Information – Pools

Tennessee State Law Regarding Pool Alarms

"Katie Beth's Law" was passed after Tennessee State Senator Charlotte Burks' 17-month-old great-granddaughter Katie Beth Maynard drowned in an above-ground pool in 2009.

Beginning January 1, 2011, this law will apply to all private swimming pools. As written, Tennessee legislation further prohibits an electrical inspector from giving final approval for the pool's wiring unless a pool alarm has been installed. In addition, signs reading, "State Law Requires a Pool Alarm be Installed" must be posted by anyone who sells a pool. The first fine is \$100 and each fine after that can cost up to \$500.

For more information, please see Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 68, Chapter 14. (§68-14-801 -§68-14-807).

Hamblen County Regulations for Swimming Pools, Spas, and Hot Tubs

303.1 Swimming Pools - Swimming pools shall be maintained in a clean and sanitary condition, and in good repair.

303.2 Enclosures – Private swimming pools, hot tubs, and spas, containing water more than 24 inches (610 mm) in depth shall be completely surrounded by a fence or barrier at least 48 inches (1219 mm) in height above the finished ground level measured on the side of the barrier away from the pool. Gates and doors in such barriers shall be self-closing and self-latching. Where the self-latching device is minimum of 54 inches (1372 mm) above the bottom of the gate, the release mechanism shall be located on the pool side of the gate. Self-closing and self-latching gates shall be maintained such that the gate will positively close latch when released from an open position of 6 inches (152 mm) from the gatepost. No existing pool enclosure shall be removed, replaced, or changed in a manner that reduces its effectiveness as a safety barrier.

Exception: Spas or hot tubs with a safety cover that complied with ASTM F 1346 shall be exempt from the provisions of this section.

Proper Discharge of Swimming Pool Water

Pool owners and operators can help protect local streams and rivers. Please follow these guidelines before draining/discharging swimming pool water.

Pools Traditionally Disinfected with chlorine or Bromine

Pool water may be allowed to enter a stream or storm drain after taking these steps:

- Let pool water stand untreated for at least seven (7) days to allow chlorine or bromine to dissipate.
- Test the pH of the pool water to ensure it is close to neutral before draining.
- Remove excess sediment and leaves from the water.
- Release the dechlorinated pool water **before** adding product to winterize the pool.
- Drain pool water over a well-vegetated area on the owner's property to slow it down and aerate it. Pool water should not be drained directly into a stream, except as a last resort. As a courtesy, avoid draining pool water across neighboring properties.
- Drain the water at a slow rate so it does not erode stream banks downstream of the pool.



Saltwater Pools

Saltwater from pools should not be drained into storm drains or streams. Hamblen County recommends using a licensed sewage handling service to dispose of the saltwater properly.

Do not drain saltwater into a septic system

Discharging pool water the wrong way may harm the environment and violate regulations.

- Threats to aquatic life: chlorine, bromine, salt, and other pool chemicals that are used to keep pools safe for
 people can kill fish and other aquatic life in streams. Stagnant pool water contains little oxygen and can kill
 aquatic life when it flows into a stream.
- Stream erosion: draining water from pools too quickly can cause erosion of the stream banks, especially in smaller streams. The erosion can ruin habitats and water quality.

Leftover Chemicals

Make sure you properly store or dispose of any leftover pool chemicals so they do not end up washing into storm drains and into our local waterways. Store chlorine and other chemicals in a covered area to prevent runoff. Take unwanted chemicals to the County's Household Hazardous Waste Collection Event.