
Exercise 
Facilities 
 
The “Tennessee Pledge” is a plan to help Tennesseans 
get back to work in a safe environment, restore their 
livelihoods and reboot our state’s economy. 
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Exercise Facilities 
 
 

Safeguarding Guidance 
In addition to strict adherence to CDC guidelines, the State recommends gyms, 
fitness/exercise facilities, or substantially similar facilities and activities put into place an 
assortment of measures to protect consumers and employees, including: 
 

Employee Protection 
• Allow employees to work from home as much as possible 
• Screen all employees reporting to work for COVID-19 symptoms with the 

following questions:  
o Have you been in close contact with a confirmed case of COVID-19? 
o Are you experiencing a cough, shortness of breath or sore throat? 
o Have you had a fever in the last 48 hours? 
o Have you had new loss of taste or smell? 
o Have you had vomiting or diarrhea in the last 24 hours? 

• Temperature screening employees: 
o Employees should take and log temperature before shifts 
o Best practice: employers to take temperatures onsite with a no-touch 

thermometer each day upon arrival at work 
o Minimum: temperatures can be taken before arriving. Normal temperature 

should not exceed 100.4 degrees Fahrenheit 
• Staff should wear face coverings (not N-95 or medical masks, which should be 

reserved for healthcare workers) and other personal protection items as 
recommended by the CDC 

• Provide training on personal protective equipment based on CDC guidelines 
• Provide a sanitizing station such as a wash basin with soap and/or bottle of hand 

sanitizer 
• Practice recommended social distancing to the greatest extent possible—

“Further is safer” 
• Stagger shifts, breaks and meals, in compliance with wage and hour laws and 

regulations, to maintain social distancing. Consider reduced staffing requirements 
where possible  

• Prohibit congregating in break rooms or common areas and limit capacity of 
such areas to allow for safe social distancing minimum of 6 feet whenever possible 

• Employees should increase hygiene practices—wash hands more frequently, 
avoid touching face, practice good respiratory etiquette when coughing or sneezing 
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• All employees should stay home if feeling ill, report any symptoms of illness to 
supervisor and require notification of COVID-19 positive case in employee’s 
household. Employees who are particularly vulnerable to COVID-19 according to the 
CDC (e.g., due to age or underlying conditions) are encouraged to stay home 

• Direct any employee who exhibits COVID-19 symptoms (i.e., answers yes to any 
of the screening questions or who is running a fever) to leave the premises 
immediately and seek medical care and/or COVID-19 testing, per Tennessee 
Department of Health and CDC guidelines. Employers should maintain the 
confidentiality of employee health information. 

• Plan for potential COVID-19 cases, and work with local health department officials 
when needed (e.g., monitor and trace COVID-19 cases, deep clean facilities) 

• Covered employers and employees should be aware of the provisions of the 
federal Families First Coronavirus Response Act, which allows for paid sick leave 
or expanded family and medical leave for specified reasons, such as for self-
quarantining or seeking a medical diagnosis for COVID-19 symptoms 

• Update the Employee Illness Policy to include the symptoms of “COVID-19” or 
create a COVID-19 specific policy. All staff should sign the policy, and the policy 
should be posted for confirmation. 

• Post extensive signage on health policies, including the following documents, in 
the workplace to help educate building occupants on COVID-19 best practices: 

o CDC guidance to stop the spread of germs 
o CDC guidance on COVID-19 symptoms 

 
 

Consumer Protection  
• Screen customers for illness upon entry to the gym: 

o Best practice: Temperature checks for every customer. Persons with 
temperatures above 100.4 degrees Fahrenheit should not be permitted on 
premise 

o Minimum: Question customers regarding COVID-19 symptoms 
§ Have you been in close contact with a confirmed case of COVID-19? 
§ Are you experiencing a cough, shortness of breath, or sore throat? 
§ Have you had a fever in the last 48 hours? 

• Keep doors and windows open where possible to improve ventilation 
• Post signs encouraging social distancing (visible to customers) 
• Require that customers wash or sanitize their hands upon entering and leaving 

the facility 
• Require customers to clean equipment they come in contact with using 

disinfecting wipes before and after each use 
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• Encourage customers to use only one piece of equipment at a time (i.e., no 
circuits or “super setting”) so that machines are cleaned after use 

• Consider limiting workout length to avoid unnecessary exposure, decrease 
congestion, and allow for additional sanitization 

• Recommend that persons more vulnerable or at-risk for  COVID-19 as identified 
by the CDC—including those who are over the age of 65 or those who have chronic 
medical conditions—take extra precaution or refrain from use of the facility during 
Phase 1 of re-opening 

 
 

Business Process Adaptations  
• Restrict facility access to staffed hours only (i.e., any unmanned facilities must be 

manned) and limit facility occupancy to 50 percent of capacity as dictated by fire 
code (as such capacity is adjusted in consideration of closed areas of the facility 
pursuant to these guidelines) 

• Mitigate exposure in the workplace by implementing social distancing guidelines 
and modify scheduling 

• Staff to conduct regular (i.e., every 2 hours) disinfecting of high-touch surfaces, 
equipment and common areas of the facility using disinfectant cleaning supplies 
according to CDC guidelines 

• Close showers, locker rooms, and lockers until further notice. Ask customers to 
instead use small gym bags to store personal belongings; remind customers to 
appropriately monitor or secure such personal belongs or provide a secure area 
monitored by staff 

• Close all swimming pools, hot tubs, saunas and other recreational water or spa 
facilities 

• Close all basketball courts, racquetball courts, and other places where formal 
and informal group or team sports may occur 

• Any youth or adult team leagues or sports should remain closed 
• Only allow group fitness classes if classes can be completed in accordance 

with social distancing recommendations (including but not limited to: less than 
50% capacity and with more than 6 feet of distance maintained between 
participants at all times; no shared equipment during the class; sufficiently adjusted 
class schedules to allow for deep cleaning between classes; martial arts and other 
contact activities should be completed without any person-to-person contact) 

• Encourage all employees and customers to wear PPE where applicable, and 
recommend that customers wear a face covering (not N-95 or medical masks, which 
should be reserved for healthcare workers) 

• Adjust equipment layout and close or restrict access to equipment to maintain 
at least six feet of distance between equipment 
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• Temporarily close water fountains, common areas, break rooms, check-in 
counters, where customers or employees may congregate. Encourage users to 
provide their own water 

• No self-service options (coffee bars, smoothie stations and other forms of 
communal food in facilities). Food retail should follow restaurant guidelines. 

• Ensure that staffing of facilities is sufficient to enable enhanced sanitization and 
cleaning measures 


